I am more than a little obsessed with thai peanut sauce. I use it as salad dressing (thinned out with extra vinegar), on satay and stir fry, as veggie dip, over noodles, really anything I can think of. The blessing and curse of this sauce is that it is so simple, there is nothing keeping me from making it all the time! This sauce gets a bite from the fresh ginger and garlic, a tang from the vinegar, and a lovely richness from the peanut butter. You can add spicy peppers but honestly, I like better it without.

Ingredients:
1/4 cup peanut butter (smooth or chunky)
1/4 cup soy sauce (I use tamari since it is wheat free)
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
1-2 cloves garlic, grated
1/2″ grated ginger
Cilantro to garnish IMG_3427-0.JPGTwo notes: 1 – I use my micro plane to grate the ginger and garlic to make a smoother sauce and 2 – I keep my ginger frozen so it grates easier. Mix everything but the cilantro together with a whisk till smooth and it is ready to serve!

IMG_3428.JPGThis weekend I tossed rice noodles and lime chicken with the peanut sauce, garnished with the cilantro, and served with cucumber. A quick and easy meal you can customize to your taste. I do love throwing sautéed vegetables in there too.

Bonus Recipe: Lime Chicken
1 pound chicken breast, cut into strips
1/2 a lime, juiced
1 tsp cayenne powder
1/2 tsp salt

Combine all ingredients together and let sit for 20 minutes. In a hot frying pan, sear the chicken till browned on the outside and cooked all the way through. About 5 minutes a side.

IMG_3430.JPGThis alone can be served with the peanut sauce over veggies, rice, noodles, or alone as an appetizer!

Love and peanut butter,

Betty

IMG_3432-3.JPG

One thought on “Thai Peanut Chicken

Leave a Reply

