We all have those movies we can watch over and over and over through the years. After a friend suggested this topic, I was racking my brain to think of a good movie and realized most of my favorites are really a series of movies. Star Wars, Star Trek, Bourne, Lord of the Rings, they are all series. But SWAT, now that is a favorite that stands alone. Sure it is a cliche and totally implausible and nothing like real SWAT. But it’s amazing mindless entertainment if you suspend reality!

Guns, explosions, and Samuel L. Jackson. Do I need to say more? I do? Really?? Ok, how about Colin Farrell, Jeremy Renner, and Oliver Martinez? Or for those who love the ladies, Michelle Rodriguez. Seriously this movie is loaded with eye candy and epicness.

Still not convinced? Man y’all are a tough crowd. How about old school TV references, how many times do you see the original show in the background or hear the theme song?

You still need more??? Hmmm…what about the plethora of amazeballs phrases like “SWAT school” or “you are cheating on your wife with fast food” or “I may work in the mud but I certainly like to play up in the clouds” or “damn robot aliens” or “hire Haley Barry as my yoga instructor”. I mean really that woman is still smokin’ and that line still makes sense over 10 years later.

I see a few of you are on the fence still. Goodness you are picky picky people. Time to break out the big guns. Planes landing on bridges, helicopter crashes, rocket launchers, LL Cool J’s abs, Oliver Martinez’s accent, and…wait for it…the gag reel. Seriously. Not joking. Watch the gag reel. My favorite bit is when Colin Farrell switches back to his native accent for a rant on barbecues. I could not stop laughing the first time I saw it and had to watch it all over again.

Long story short(er), go watch the movie. Turn on the tv, turn off you brain, grab a bowl of popcorn and a nice refreshing beverage and let the rhythm take you away.

Love and guilty pleasures,

Betty

Leave a Reply

