I have mentioned before that I have a love affair with grapefruit.  Really citrus in general, but grapefruit is one of my all time favorite foods.  So tart, so sweet, so perfectly acidic. Now grapefruit as dessert is no stranger to this girl, but I had never cooked it into a dessert.  Or really ever.  I mean I roast chicken with cut up lemons, limes, and oranges.  However, I have only ever used grapefruit juice in heat applications, never the whole fruit.  So one day on the internet, I stumbled across a list of recipes using grapefruit, mostly segments in salads and that sort of thing.  All sort of “been there, done that, just hand me a spoon and the fruit” recipes.

Yet one recipe, now that intrigued me.  Broiled grapefruit.  Two ingredients.  10 minutes tops.  Result?  A perfectly sweet treat that is seasonally delicious and won’t break your diet!

Step one – preheat the broiler.

Step two – cut grapefruit in half and slice into the segments like you would to serve it in the skin for breakfast.

Step three – top each half with about 1 teaspoon of brown sugar.

Step four – broil approximately 6 minutes or until the sugar starts to brown and get all caramelized.

Betty tips: Line whatever pan you are using to broil the fruit with tin foil to make cleanup a snap.  Also, let it rest for a minute or so before serving or else risk a burnt mouth!

Love and citrus,

Betty

Leave a Reply

