For about a year, I have been contemplating the biggest crochet project of my life.  I took my little hobby, and made it into a business.  Not a big business, but my business.  One I started with my own two hands (get it cause it is a craft business), and will succeed or fail all because of me.  Now that is both the scariest and most amazing thought of my life.

The research took ages.  But then again I may have gone overboard with business, marketing, Etsy, and PayPal rules and regulations research.   I just couldn’t stop myself one I got started.  There were so many options for start up, what direction to take, and all the tiny little details like what type of packaging to use.  However, that is the hazard of being a history major in college.  The obsessive need to research, and research some more till I know everything about a subject is ingrained in me.

But I digress.  Back to Sweet Betty’s Crafts where our tag line is “Custom crocheted crafts, from my hands to your home”. This all started because I was bored and decided to teach myself to crochet. I started with baby blankets because that seemed easiest! Each time I would start a new one, it would end up as a present for a friend having a baby or someone wanting to buy it to give as a gift. So, I decided to make it official and be in business for myself! Over time, I have expanded beyond blankets and now make all sorts of things. Still, mostly baby items but the occasional adult sized items as well.

I have to say, I have never been more pleased with myself. This was a big step for me, one I put off for a long while because I was scared of it. But now that it is official, I find myself wondering why I was afraid at all. Sure things haven’t gone perfectly according to plan, but what ever does? At the end of the day, I still achieved a goal and crossed one item off my bucket list. And that is something to be proud of.

Love and dreams,

Betty

PS in a bit of shameless self promotion here are the Etsy and Facebook links!

http://www.facebook.com/sweetbettyscrafts
http://etsy.com/shop/SweetBettysCrafts

5 thoughts on “My Biggest Crochet Project Yet

Leave a Reply

