I stumbled across a pin for meatless Mexican cooking a while and that is just right up my food street.  Mexican?   Always delicious in my opinion (thanks to Mama being from southern Texas).  Meatless?  My body likes to be vegetarian at least 1/3 of time, keeps the heartburn at bay.  Now I have seen a few other versions of this recipe, but in my opinion this if by far the best one out there!  The secret, marinating the chickpeas in lime and seasoning. It really makes all the difference.  Most versions of meatless tacos call for black beans or lentils, but I find the texture to be too mushy.  When you bake the chickpeas, they get this lovely dense texture with just a hint of a bite.

Now, I serve this in regular corn tortillas heated up with a tiny bit of oil on the stove.  You can use flour tortillas but wheat has become a bad word in this house due to dietary restrictions so I never use them.  I have never done the double decker version (see original recipe linked below) but it does look so tasty!.  To go on top, I love some Daiya shredded cheddar, salsa, and lettuce.  Nice and simple!  Though guacamole/avocado or Toffuti sour cream does go well with this as well!

Recipe (as modified)

1 can drained chickpeas

Juice of 1/2 a lime

1 tbsp. taco seasoning (store bought or home made whichever you prefer!)

Preheat oven to 350 while the chickpeas marinate in all ingredients.  Bake about 20 minutes till the chickpeas get nice and browned.

Love and delicious dinners

Betty

Original Recipe: http://www.thegardengrazer.com/2012/10/double-decker-chickpea-tacos.html

Original Pin: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/127437864431160766/

Leave a Reply

