My favorite chick flick of ALL time.  I can say that without any hesitation.  I adore this movie.  So much so my hairdresser (the brilliant Kevin) and I reference it at least once per hair cut.  I can practically quote the movie backwards.  I have made Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa.  My cake making goal in life is to make a giant armadillo shaped grooms cake. I completely agree that blush and bashful are different shades of pink.  But those bridesmaids dresses are a horror.  I cry every time at M’Lynne’s speech at the funeral.  I have said, in all seriousness, “if you don’t have anything nice to say, come sit by me!”.

Now if you didn’t get any or all of those references, immediately go watch the movie.  Grab a bowl of popcorn (for the start is comedic) and a box of Kleenex (for the end is a tearjerker) and acquaint yourself with Couch Island.  It does;t even matter that the movie was made in 1989 (and the play it was based on even earlier), the movie has aged well!  Some of the hairstyles, not so much, but that is the 80s for you!  Besides, the higher the hair the closer to God!

Every time I watch this movie I have the urge to move to a small southern town, but something tells me it wouldn’t be the same.  Besides, I then remember how much I like having the art institute and opera house within a 20 minute drive.

Love and teasing combs,

Betty

Cuppa Cuppa Cuppa, the Recipe

1 cup self rising flour

1 cup sugar

1 cup fruit cocktail with the juice (I prefer mandarin oranges or peaches in juice not syrup!)

Mix and bake at 350 till golden bubbly (about 25 minutes).

Serve over ice cream to cut the sweetness.

Leave a Reply

