The other day I was browsing though some candles and lotions and I started to notice a trend in labeling.  Unscented versus natural scent.  Now I am allergic to many a perfume and so I tend to go for all unscented products, but is that really better for me?  Yes unscented doesn’t have additional fragrances added in, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t have irritating chemicals in place of them or even to remove them.

Natural, well that just sounds good but is very misleading!  Flowers are natural, but some are still an irritant!  Heck, there are a lot of things found in nature I don’t want anywhere near my skin!  If we are taking natural beeswax scent in a candle, that is the good kind of natural.  But naturally scented lotions can still make me sneeze!

I do tend to go for natural like beeswax candles and coconut oil moisturizers when I see the choice.  Though I think my deodorant is labeled as unscented.  And the lotion sitting on my counter is actually labeled fragrance free though it does have a smell to it.

I guess what it boils down to, is never trust the labeling, always read the ingredients.  A label never tells you the whole truth, just what they think you want to hear.  

Love and fine print,

Betty

Leave a Reply

