I have a not so secret love affair with ABBA music.  I just love to sing right along with all of it.  So a movie about that pretty much requires me to sing (and dance) along with ABBA music is an automatic hit in my book.  I admit I don’t think the acting is all that great and Pierce Brosnan is not the most believable singer in the world.  However, the costumes are fantastic, the setting is beautiful, and the choreography makes me laugh.  Seriously, I love the use of flippers.  Watch the movie and you will get my reference.

Let me break this down a bit, to highlight the amazingness that is this movie.  You have Meryl Street, Amanda Seyfried, Stellan Skarsgard,  and Christine Baranski all in one movie.  All actors I adore.  All in one spot.  That is point one.  Point two, seeing the flashbacks of the potential fathers with Donna had me laughing to the point of tears.  The obvious wigs and the intentionally overacting just are too perfect.  Not to mention the music in that scene is brilliantly timed to the visuals.  Point three, they do not take themselves too seriously.  There is no way you can do that in platform heels and sequined jumpsuits anyway.  I have to say, I would love to have Donna’s costume trunk for dress up parties and Halloween!

My favorite scene of the whole movie is really any with Bill Anderson (played by Stellan Skarsgard).  I just love the character, totally the kind of person I wouldn’t mind being stuck in a musical with.  Plus I happen to think he is one of the best acted characters in the entire movie, though he might be tied with Tanya.

On a slight tangent, I got to see the play on Broadway the last time I visited Andrew in NYC.  Now just by virtue of live versus film acting, the two were very different experiences.  I have to say though, I liked them both but for completely different reasons!  I would recommend seeing the show if you get the chance though!

Love and dancing queens,

Betty

Leave a Reply

