I am a hummus addict.  Seriously.  I have hummus as a snack almost every single day.  But that can be an expensive habit, depending on the brand and serving size.  So taking a cue from my friend Amy, I started making my own.  It has been fun too!  I have been experimenting with new flavors, pepperoncini or chipotle and lime are my favorites!  The best part, is all you need is a blender or food processor and maybe a pan for roasting.  Easy as pie!  Well easier, I mean pie takes way more steps and requires so many more ingredients.

Base Recipe:

15 oz can chickpeas, drained (I prefer low sodium)

2 tbsp tahini

2 tbsp olive oil

Juice of 1 lemon (2-3 tbsp)

1-2 tbsp liquid (water, liquid from can, or stock)

Add all ingredients into the blender or food processor and process on high till smooth and creamy.  Depending on how well I drain the chickpeas, I need more or less liquid.  If you are using flavorings such as roasted vegetables then you probably will not need any additional liquid.  I always start blending the ingredients through the lemon first to see how much liquid I will need to add.  If you add it at the start you run the risk of having you hummus be too thin or airy.

Flavor Ideas:

3-4 roasted garlic cloves (roast these in the olive oil then add to the base recipe, process as usual)

Pepperoncini (3-5 depending on the size, I do seed mine for a better texture)

2 chipotle peppers with adobe sauce, juice of 1 lime (lime replace the lemon in the base recipe)

Roasted carrots or onions (1/4 cup)

Olives (I use kalamata personally!

One batch makes about 6 snack size servings (approximately 3 tbsp in size) or the equivalent of one tub of hummus from the store.  My favorite way to serve hummus is with carrots or celery or on sandwiches in place of mayo.

Love and snack time,

Betty

Leave a Reply

