In college, the campus tv station would play the same movies on a rotating schedule each week in the wee hours of the night.  One week they happened to be playing Pitch Black.  I friggin loved it.  Perfect mindless entertainment for an overtaxed brain.  The sequel, Chronicles of Riddick, just so happened to come out my freshman year of college though I somehow missed that.  It wasn’t until years later that I finally watched it!  And much to my surprise, I loved the sequel more! CNormally the sequel ruins the franchise.  Now there is a third movie, which I have yet to see but I did buy on sale the other day.  Fingers crossed it is as good as the first two!

Reasons to like Chronicles of Riddick:

  • Clear cut villain
  • Less clear cut hero (I do so love dark hero movies!)
  • Sci-fi action
  • Good old fashioned fight sequences
  • Karl Urban, Judi Dench, and Vin Diesel in one movie
  • Sassy dialogue
  • Interesting costuming/set design
  • Unexpected endings

Now I am not claiming this movie some pinnacle of cinema.  It is not a great movie, but it is great entertainment.  The players are well cast, there is an actual plot with twists and all, the fight scenes are very well choreographed, and while long at 2 hours and 5 minutes it is well paced.  If you like Terminator/Alien style movies, you will like this.

Love and what are the odds of that?

Betty

Leave a Reply

