I have three words, just three, that will make you run for the nearest Netflix/Hulu/Alien-tech streaming device to watch this absolutely ah-MAZ-ing movie…err…blog…vlog?  OK back to the point.  Three words.  Neil.  Patrick.  Harris.  Worked didn’t it?  (Sigh) Fine I will give you a few more reasons: Joss “The Boss” Wheden, Nathan Fillion, musical numbers, mad scientists, love triangles, revenge, and evil plots to take over the word.

I can distinctly remember the first time I saw Dr. Horrible.  I was at the screening of Can’t Stop the Serenity and it was being shown before the main feature.  Between all the super-fans singing along and the big screen, how could a girl not fall in love?  I mean I was seated next to brown coats singing A Man’s Gotta Do.  Pure gold my friends, and not a bit of it marked goods.  I got the DVD and book bag for Christmas that year, the gift that has kept on giving!  Betty note – if you can attend a screening of Can’t Stop the Serenity, do!  Great cause, great entertainment, and great group activity.  Find the schedule at http://www.cantstoptheserenity.com and flex your deltoids of compassion (that will make sense later, I promise).

So let’s get down to business, to defeat the Huns.  Oh wait wrong movie, reset scene!  We have an evil villain, Dr. Horrible, who is not really a total bad guy just a genius who is kinda evil.  He really just wants to be accepted and get the girl!   And we have a hero, Captain Hammer, who is crappy hero.  He is kind of a jerk.  Enter the love interest from stage left, Penny.  Such a sweet girl, but really I would accept the keys to a shiny new Australia over Hammer time.  Songs are used to put the right emphasis on a scene, and all the actors do an incredible job!  NPH is the best naturally.  In fact I may or may not be singing along with Slipping right now.  Yes I know almost all the words, the songs are catchy!

Now I will say no more for fear of spoilers except that I give this two spoons way up.  If you are a fan of comedy/drama/musicals you cannot miss this!

Bonus question!  Who is your arch nemesis?

Love and freeze rays,

Betty

Leave a Reply

