Let me preface this by saying, I used to think I hated tuna.  Especially canned tuna.  Till I realized, it don’t need no stinkin mayo!  Tuna salad always grossed me out, the texture was just horrible to me.  Then I discovered this mayo-less tuna salad and let me tell you I was converted instantly!  This recipe is also perfect for people with egg intolerances, and you know we here at Sweet Betty’s are all about accommodating food issues.

Recipe:

1 4oz can of tuna, packed in water

¼ avocado, mashed

¼ tsp garlic powder

½ tbsp lemon juice

4 dashes Tabasco sauce

2-3 diced baby pickles (my preference is kosher dill)

Mix everything together and serve!  It is that simple!  I like to serve this with celery (for dipping) to make a gluten-free meal too.  But it also goes great on a sandwich.

Recipe Notes:

I used the baby pickles for the texture, larger pickles don’t give the same crunch and make this end up too mushy.  If you are not a fan of spice, you can leave out the Tabasco and just add an extra dash of lemon. 

Love and lunch,

Betty

Leave a Reply

