Along the lines of the posting from last week for mayo-less tuna salad, I have another way to make summer standard fair, without the eggs!  This version of “egg” salad is completely vegan, diary free, and wheat free and you do not lose any of that yummy egg salad flavor!

A few years ago one of my coworkers gave me a similar recipe; she and her husband loved it and converted to it when his cholesterol got a wee bit too high.  Sadly, after reading the recipe but never making it, I lost it. But with a little trial and error I recreated my own version inspired by Sharon’s!

Ingredients:

1 package firm tofu (I used Silken Lite Firm)

2 tbsp yellow mustard

1 tsp paprika

½ tsp garlic powder

Pinch cayenne pepper

Hot sauce to taste (optional)

Assembly

It is best if you press the tofu first, or else this can get a little soggy.  The easiest way I have found to press tofu is to remove it from the package and wrap loosely in paper towel.  Set the tofu on a plate, adding a second plate on top, and put a weigh such as a large can of tomatoes. Let sit for half an hour.  You will get a milky liquid runoff so make sure it will be contained!

Once pressed dice the tofu, add all ingredients into a bowl, mix gently till combined, and you are ready to serve!  As I have a wheat issue, I rarely make this into sandwiches but instead serve it on veggies like celery or a hollowed out cucumber.  However, it can also be served on toast, in a pita, or with chips as a dip!

Serves 2-3 people for lunch.

Love and fooled you didn’t I?

Betty

One thought on “Eggless Egg Salad

Leave a Reply

