Since the dairy free post was so well received, I thought I would do a second one on gluten free living!  For the past year and a half, I have been forced to live a gluten free lifestyle.  Well that is not entirely true, a wheat free lifestyle and yes there is a difference.  The moral of the story though is I get horribly sick and have migraines for days when I eat wheat so it must be removed from my diet.  There has been a fairly steep learning curve for me, even though I am one to read labels and have friends who are gluten free.  So to help some of y’all avoid the same pit falls I did, and the painful repercussions that go with it, here are my tips for avoid that pesky wheat/gluten!

  • Buy tamari sauce instead of soy sauce.  Tamari is just all soy soy sauce really.  Which doesn’t make a lot of sense but soy sauce is usually half wheat based (which I didn’t realize at first and man oh man that stir fry made me sick).  Most sushi places will have tamari if you ask for it as well and I have had luck finding it at Thai restaurants as well!
  • Gefu Spiral Slicer – you need one.  Some friends of mine had one, I tried it, fell in love, bought my own off Amazon.  You see it perfect for making zucchini (or squash or cucumber) noodles to replace the wheat-based originals.  I have tried a few of the gluten-free pastas and am not a fan, I prefer to make my own out of vegetables.
  • Bob’s Red Mill All Purpose Flour – the best one I have found for general baking.  I have used it for banana breads, cookies, bars, cakes, and pie crusts all with good results.  You need to add xanthan gum to the mix, the amount depends on what you are making, but that is really the main trick to it.
  • Xanthan gum – this stuff makes your baked goods actually work.  It acts as the glue (which gluten usually does) to hold your cookies and cakes together.  A little goes a long way too, most recipes need 1-2 teaspoons and that is it!
  • Arrowroot powder – it is a thickener similar to cornstarch.  However, I find it makes less of a gummy texture when heated.  Similarly to cornstarch, you mix it with liquid to dissolve it before adding it to the dish.  Stir, heat, and allow to thicken and presto!  Sauce!  You can find this at a co-op in bulk and Bob’s Red Mill has a version as well.

Love and accommodations,

Betty

Leave a Reply

