Now I come from a good old fashioned Italian family.   Grandma taught me how to make sauce from scratch probably before I was taller than the stove. Now cut out the short jokes, no that wasn’t last year. Now Dad taught me how to make meatballs. You know the kind that you simmer in the sauce all day long. So by the time dinner rolls around you are drooling and hungry enough to gnaw your arm off. Man those are good. But man those are not all that great for you. Made with a mixture of pork and other delicious and fatty things, these are really not every day dinner items. So I browsed Pinterest (where else) for some inspiration! So while these are not the same, they are close enough to satisfy the craving!

Ingredients:

1 package ground turkey (either 93% or 99% lean)

1 zucchini grated

½ tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp dried marjoram

1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

1 quart homemade sauce or 1 jar of your choice marinara style sauce

Method to My Madness:

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Make sure not to pack the mix tightly or you will end up with hockey pucks instead of meatballs. Divide the mix into 16 equal sized pieces (I find the quarter then quarter the quarters method easiest) and mold into mostly round shapes, if they aren’t perfect it makes it more rustic! Meanwhile heat a large skillet over medium-high heat (I used my all-clad lidded sauté pan) and lightly coat with a non-stick spray.   Evenly brown the meatballs, about 2-3 minutes each “side”. Once browned, add the sauce over the top of the newly browned meatballs and lid the whole kit and caboodle! Now I mean it, leave that darn lid on. It is part of the magic. Turn the heat to low, or a gentle medium-low depending on your stove, and cook for 25-30 minutes.

To serve, you can obviously serve with pasta.  Or I like to serve with rice (since I cannot have wheat).  OK fine I sometimes eat them all by themselves.  Top with parmesan or (in my case) nutritional yeast, add a side salad, and you are set!  Love and substitutes,

Betty

2 thoughts on “Low-Fat Turkey Meatballs

  1. Can you really tell that there is zucchini in these? I love the idea of this, but if the zucchini has a strong flavor or makes it have a strange texture, I don’t think the hubs would end up liking them. It’s a great way to get some extra veggies in there, though! itsjennybelle.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

