I have been getting a lot of compliments lately on my hair and people asking what me if I color my hair. To which I say, thank you all so much and other than occasionally tipping my hair purple, I don’t color it. But I do have a few tips and tricks that keep my hair shiny, frizz free, and manageable.

Tip 1 – Shampoo and Conditioner. Pick ones that are sulfate free! I use the L’Oréal Ever series, currently the EverCrème for dry hair. But when I started using it I picked the one for colored hair as I had just added purple to my ends. Now I could do a blog post alone on the reasons you should get rid of sulfates from your hair and skin care but I will just put a simplified version here. It can strip your hair of natural oils making frizz and dandruff worse, and isn’t that the opposite of what we want?

Tip 2 – Use a heat protectant spray. Currently I use Tori & Guy Prep Heat Protectant Mist. Even on days/nights I do not use heat tools like a blow dryer on my hair I still use this prep. It is an amazing frizz stopper. A quick mist all over, your normal product, and style as you always would. It is as simple as that.

Tip 3 – Apple cider vinegar rinse. I do a rinse about every two to three weeks. The rinse is simple, just pour about ¼ cup of apple cider vinegar over pre-wet hair. Let sit for 10 minutes and then wash as usual. Now this really keeps my scalp healthy and my hair super shiny. The rinse removes all the buildup on my hair in addition to keeping my scalp from itching and keeps away flakes. In winter, I do the rinse more often, about every one or two weeks.

Tip 4 – Coconut oil hair mask. This is one I have recently started doing and it has made a world of different in the softness of my hair. I cannot stop touching my hair after this mask and it really keeps down the frizz, even with as hot and humid as it has been this summer! Go here for the blog post on the hair mask!

Tip 5 – Don’t wash your hair daily. I only wash my hair every two to three days, and use Dove Dry Shampoo on the off days. It may seem counterintuitive but washing my hair less makes it much more manageable in the long run. It make take your scalp a few weeks to adjust to the new routine but trust me it will be worth it in the long run!

Love and locks,

Betty

Leave a Reply

