My lovey friend Amber reminded me the other day about a dish I used to make all the time that she loved and tried to make herself recently. I guess I made it so much I got sick of it and forgot about it. Which is kind of a shame because it is delicious, quick to prepare, and amazing cold the next day! It really is the perfect summer salad for those busy weeks when you just don’t have time to make lunches in the morning. I packaged this recipe up in single servings this week so I can just grab lunch and go! The base recipe is for 5 lunch sized servings.

Base Recipe:

  • 1.5-2 pounds chicken breast, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 2 cups cooked quinoa (I used 1 2/3 this time for portion control)
  • ½ red onion, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • ½ packaged cherry tomatoes or 2 small diced tomatoes
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • Salt to taste (I use about 1 tsp)

Combine the chili powder, garlic, and oregano together in a small bowl. Using about half the mixture, coat the chicken pieces. Heat a sauté pan to medium high, lightly spray with oil, and thoroughly brown the chicken till cooked. While the chicken is cooking, in a medium sized mixing bowl add the lime juice and remaining spice mix to the quinoa and mix together. Add the red onion, bell pepper, and cherry tomatoes and toss gently. Once the chicken is cooked, add the chicken and stir to combine. You are now ready to serve!

Mixing it up:

Now there are some variations I like to do with this base menu to keep it interesting and depending on what I am craving that day. You can swap the red onion for scallions, add black or garbanzo beans, increase the quinoa, add minced garlic to the lime juice, add diced jalapeño, add coconut oil for a richer vinaigrette, or switch up the vegetables!

Love and summer living,

Betty

Leave a Reply

