Oh my goodness y’all, guess who has a birthday this week? This blog! I cannot believe it has already been a year. I mean, who knew I would still have anything remotely interesting to say after a whole year and around 150 posts! I am absolutely stunned there are all of you still reading, commenting, and sharing.

Honestly, I had fairly low expectations going into all of this. I didn’t think there would be more than a handful of people who would actually want to read what I had to write on a regular basis. I figured I might get out a post a week or so, since I really don’t have that many interesting things to say. The blog was meant to be just a fun little outlet for me, nothing major. Just a way for me to play around with writing and give me an excuse to let my creative hair down from time to time.

Turns out I was wrong and I couldn’t be happier. The sheer number of my amazing friends and family who tell me that they tried my recipes and loved them or read a book I reviewed and want to talk about it, simply amazing. Not to mention there are many people I have never met who read and comment and follow.  I never really imagined that perfect strangers would really care about my reviews and ramblings.   It really makes a girl feel special to have so many people being supportive and encouraging me to post more often or to go ahead and try out new topics and formats.

This past year has been a pretty steep learning curve for me. One that was terrifying at first, because let us be honest it is easy to look like an idiot on the internet. I for one don’t want to look like an idiot. But with the help of all your feedback, I feel like I am starting to finally find my groove on what I like to write about and how to share the best of it with you. I am very excited to kick off Year 2, hopefully with even better content and to see where this year takes me. I would be lying if I said I enjoyed every minute of it as I have had some ups and downs along the way. But the truth is that I can no longer imagine not having this blog as an outlet in my life and that it has made me a happier person.

I guess what this really boils down to is, thank you. Thank you for letting me say all of the weird things floating around in my brain, and only judging a little. Thank you for being my own best critics and cheerleaders. Thank you for spending some of your precious time with me. Just thank you.

Love,

Betty

One thought on “Happy Birthday (to me?)!

Leave a Reply

