I recently watched a TED talk by Matt Cutts entitled “Try something new for 30 days”.  He makes a point that it is very easy to try really anything for 30 days.  That means really try, as in do it every day for 30 days.  What really stuck with me, was when he said that the months didn’t just fly by but were much more memorable.  I have said way to many times this summer, the time just flew by and well I MEANT to (insert item here) but I just lost track of time.  Hello, this is why I wrote my Summer Bucket List!  Which I have been working on and think I will indeed finish all of it!

The more I thought about this the more I realized, I really need to do this myself.  After all, I have felt like life has been speeding by.  I welcome a way to make the days more memorable, less like one great disappointing blur.  But what should my first challenge be?  Something health related like doing yoga every day?  Or maybe something creatively motivated like writing every day?  Or what about something like having the sink be completely empty at bedtime ever day? Gosh it all seems either so silly or like too much of a challenge.

Then it struck me.  I have been doing this, sort of.  I set a goal (using my handy dandy Habit List app) of making my bed every day.  Yes I know, 28 was a little old to be starting that but hey it stuck and now I make my bed the instant I crawl out of it.  So if I have already been doing something similar (albeit without the time limitation), that means I can do this.  I just need to pick something that I have been meaning to do, but just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

Now I have a lot of ideas for my own 30 day challenges so I won’t bore you with them here.  But I will tell you what my first one will be.  I am counting on y’all to help hold me to this too!  For in 31 days, I will have to confess to you if I did it or not.  I fully accept shaming if I do not and you would be right to do so.

For the next 30 days, I am going to listen to one education podcast a day.  I am not sure when, but at some point I stopped listening to Missed in History and How Stuff Works.  I used to love turning those on in the car for my commutes.  It was a way to feel like I wasn’t wasting my time, a way to learn new things every day, and I genuinely love hearing the stories.  I keep saying I should start those up again and honestly I am not sure why I haven’t seeing as how I do truly miss them. But today is the end of all those silly made up excuses.

Love and habits,

Betty

Leave a Reply

