In honor of Labor Day, I thought I would theme this week’s Film Flashback to feature a movie about…work. Or really about working for a living. I am paraphrasing the song there, but I think you get the point.

Reasons to love this movie:

  • The theme song is catchy, and still applicable
  • Lily Tomlin
  • Dolly Parton
  • Jane Fonda
  • We all know a Roz
  • The dark humor of equal rights for women in the work place…still applicable
  • The ingenuity of how they tie up Mr. Hart

Fine, I will grant you that is a very limited view of the movie. But I promise it is great! The day dream revenge sequence is hilarious, those three ladies acting high and having the munchies is priceless, and oh the outfits! I love the hair and outfits, and how the 80s are just starting to peek through! Plus, if you have ever had a horrible boss, chances are you get a kick of these ladies getting their revenge. It is a real have your cake and eat it too moment!

The movie perfectly skirts the line of drama and comedy, a dramedy if you will, and while has many feminist themes doesn’t come off as preachy or heavy handed. As an administrative assistant myself, I get a really big kick out of the fact that you can make the whole office work without the boss because the assistants do it all!

Love and atta girl,

Betty

Leave a Reply

