I am going to say something radical.  Something crazy and nutty and I am sure some of you will be very, very upset with me.  Faerie Tale Theatre beats Disney any day of the week.

(Phew) I said it, I really do feel better.  Now that we have that in the open I can feel free to say why I love it so.  Reason number one – all the actors.   The have Shelley Duvall (obviously, she does the intros!), Christopher Reeve, Susan Sarandon, Bernadette Peters, Mick Jagger, the list goes on and on and on.

Reason number two – the dark stories.  They don’t shy away from leaning towards darker stories.  Now they have some very lighthearted ones (Dancing Princesses and The Princess Who Had Never Laughed are my favorite) but then there are ones like the Snow Queen and the Boy Who Left Home to Find Out About the Shivers.  I ADORE those two.

Reason number three – the timing.  They were all meant for TV episodes so they are all 50 minutes long.  Perfect for short attention spans and/or binge watching.

Reason number four – live acting.  Now don’t get me wrong I do love a good animated hero, but there is just something about live acting fairie tales.

Now I own the box set (thank you Amazon!) but you can get these on Hulu I believe.  Sadly they are not on Netflix streaming but I believe you can get them as DVDs!

Love and childhood,

Betty

Leave a Reply

