Now I have said it before and I will say it again, I am at heart a lazy girl. Shortcuts make me happy. I have never made traditional risotto because I cannot be bothered to stand there and stir it for 45 minutes. I have made a no stir risotto though, because I don’t have to deal with it! Now this lazy girl mentality applies to a lot of things in my life like dual purpose topcoat nail polish and all-purpose cleaners, but it doesn’t always apply to my language.

For example, I absolutely detest the acronym ASAP. Seriously, stop using it right this instant. It could mean in 20 minutes or it could mean in the next few days. You can ask 100 people what it means and get 100 different answers. You want me to respond to something? Set an actual date and/or time that I must do it by. I guarantee you I will meet that deadline. Tell me ASAP, and well I may just decide snack time is more important to me so I couldn’t possibly get to your task till after that.

Betty note – don’t make a girl hangry. You wouldn’t like her when she is hangry.

Now I think ASAP is the acronym that annoys me the most, I find it to be the most arrogant of the acronyms, but there are many others. Like saying in an email it is “FYI”, I know that or why else would you have sent me an email to begin with?

So please, please start using real words again people. For the sake of my sanity and the English language (or other for you multi-lingual people out there), write out your complete thoughts from time to time. Skip the tweet format and shortest words possible and WRITE.

I leave you with a clip from the Dead Poet’s Society, for they say it far better than I ever could in a far shorter time frame.

Love and syllables,

Betty

Leave a Reply

