I am warning you, I have found a quick and easy snack that may just change your life. I mean it, if you are not ready for this kind of revelation just close this post and walk away. But if you are searching for a healthy snacking option that isn’t a pain in the butt to make or seriously bland then boy oh boy do I have the tip for you!

Two words, I just need two words. Baked chickpeas. You heard me, I said baked chickpeas. Make them sweet, make them savory, make them spicy just bake them! They turn into these chewy dense delightful snacks when you bake them. They have just the right amount of bite to them, they are not mushy at all!

Side note – I have essentially reviewed this in my Chickpea Taco post, but that was a meal and not a snack. But the process is similar.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Make sure to spray your pan well with a nonstick spray. In a separate bowl, combine drained and rinsed chickpeas as well as your seasonings (ideas listed below). Spread in an even layer and bake for 25-30 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature, these do not refrigerate well.

Seasoning ideas:

  • Cinnamon sugar
  • Pumpkin pie seasoning/pumpkin spice
  • Cocoa powder and nutmeg (careful this one doesn’t burn)
  • Taco seasoning
  • Curry (powdered version only)
  • Chili powder

Now these are just a few ideas, really the combinations are endless. The one thing I have noticed though is that you want the chickpeas to be well drained/fairly dry. Unlike in the chickpea taco recipe where you coat them in lime juice, I wouldn’t add any sort of liquid to this mix. The reason is that they will burn before they dry out enough to be good at room temperature.

Love and good eats,

Betty

Leave a Reply

