Lately I admit, I have been having a bit of a case of writers block. I just cannot seem to either find an idea to blog about or I cannot make it say what I want it to say.  It is one of the most frustrating things as a creative person to feel like you are out of good ideas.

Now I know for a fact, I am not the only person this happens to. Goodness knows we have all been there at some point.  So with that in mind, I cannot be the only person who, during the mental block, forgets strategies and ways to break free.  So mostly for my own benefit and reference, but also in case one of you is experiencing the same thing, here is a list of ways to help shatter that block!

  • Switch gears to something new.  If you have block when writing, try drawing or coloring.  I personally have an MC Escher coloring book and a set of really nice colored pencils.
  • Pick up a different project.  When I am stuck on one crochet pattern, I will put it down for a bit and work on something different.  If a blanket is not coming together, I may make a hat instead since the patterns are not at all similar.  Completing the hat can give me the “you did it!” feeling that boosts me mentally enough to tack the other project.
  • Change of scenery.  If you always work in one spot in your house, try going to a different room.  Or to a coffee shop/park/library so all the same distractions are not present.  I personally write most at my kitchen table so I will switch it up and sit in my reading nook when I have a block.
  • Work out.  Sometimes you just need to let your brain shut down and process in the background.  I love to do yoga, go for a walk, or take a swim to physically and mentally get away from the problem.
  • Talk it out.  Call a friend or family and talk through where you are stumped.  Getting the problem defined and mapped out can help you get past the block.
  • Tidy up your space.  Cleaning the clutter out of your physical space can help you get rid of the clutter in your mental space keeping you from creating.  Added bonus, cleaning was probably on your To Do list anyway.
  • Work on smaller tasks.  Finish up those small projects that keep getting put aside.  Checking those off your list can help improve your state of mind and get you thinking in more productive manner.  When I have a mental block I like to tackle my monthly chores like updating my budget, taking an inventory of my supplies/pantry, or mapping out my weekly tasks.
  • Be a consumer instead of producer.  If you have writers block, read a book by an author you admire.  If you cannot get your video to edit write, watch a movie.  Think about what draws you to these works and compare that to your own works.  By breaking down inspiration pieces by others, you can gain insight into your own work and in what direction you want it to go.

Love and strategies,

Betty

2 thoughts on “Breaking a Mental Block

  1. Yeah… let’s not let someone we both know see #6. On the night’s when my blog takes longer than usual, I’m not sure I want to have anyone telling me “why don’t you just do some cleaning?” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

