Now for those who know me this seems like a weird post.  Yes I know I have been admit about my dislike for pork in the past, but I am really rather sick of chicken.  I am only so-so at cooking fish and seeing as how it doesn’t reheat well it is really not a good option to bring to work for lunch as leftovers.  Ditto for red meat.  So to Pinterest I went for how to cook pork tenderloin since it is supposed to be a leaner option (read healthier) and a good alternative for chicken.

My main complaint in the past about pork has always been the flavor.   I find it to be boring and almost dirty (as in how dirt smells).  But I love the taste of balsamic vinegar so I figured this would be a good option for me to start with.  Bonus, it has garlic in it and well I do adore that too.  See the link here for full recipe.

The recipe says to use olive oil but I used coconut oil instead since I had it handy.  It also calls for a 1:1 ratio of vinegar to oil but I went a little heavy with the balsamic and a little light on the oil.  It also says to marinate for one hour or up to 12 hours. I went with the hour since I started it after work and it turned out beautifully!  Oh and this girl unfortunately doesn’t have a grill so I went with the pan searing/oven roasting method.  I served it with roasted baby red potatoes and green beans and hello comfort food without the guilt!

To my family, yes I have now seen the errors of my ways.  So we can add this to the list of things I like, right next to bacon.

I give this recipe two spoons way up and will be repeating it for sure!  Maybe next time I will add some rosemary for an extra pop of flavor.

Love and new flavors,

Betty

Leave a Reply

