Confession, I love Hawaiian style pizza.  Next to pepperoni it is my favorite.  But given my no wheat no dairy lifestyle, pizza is not a regular thing in my repertoire.  So the idea of being able to have the flavor without the pain is like being able to have my cake and eat it too.

Now I didn’t actually read the pin, just used it for inspiration.  I used deli fresh ham, not the prepacked kind.  In part because I don’t use lunch meat regularly and wanted a very small quantity and in part because it just flat out tastes better.  For the pineapple, make sure you get the kind in juice not syrup or it will be too sweet.  I accidently bought pineapple chunks when I made this so I just minced it up before adding it to the dish.  For the sauce, I had a jar of marinara open that I wanted to use up and it was a great substitute for pizza sauce.

Recipe:

2 medium chicken breasts

2 slices ham

¼ cup crushed pineapple

¼ cup marinara sauce or pizza sauce

2 tbsp Daiya mozzarella shreds (or regular mozzarella if you can have it!)

Assemble in the order shown and roast at 375 for 40 minutes or till the chicken is cooked and the cheese is brown and bubbly.

Serves  2.

All in all, this recipe is not all unhealthy, depending on how heavy your hand is with the ham and cheese part.  So for when you are craving a treat, this might just be the recipe for you!

Love and options,

Betty

Leave a Reply

