I posted a photo on Instagram of my attempt at this recipe got multiple comments asking for the recipe.  I thought a little review and the link was in order!  A direct link to the website is: http://www.alifeofgeekery.co.uk/2015/08/cloud-breakfast-eggs.html  and I also have it pinned to my Breakfast Delights board if you would prefer to save it that way!

This recipe is simple, just a little labor intensive.  Well it was for me as I hand whisked the egg whites.  Other than that, it is straight forward and easy.  One thing to note is that I did have to double the baking times.  My oven doesn’t typically run that cool but it could have been a factor.  I ended up just adding a minute at a time and then peering through the oven window like a kid at the window of a closed candy store.

For the add-ins, I simply did diced green onion and a pinch of salt.  It was fresh and delicious, and didn’t overwhelm the meringue.  I did make this into a nice brunch with some roasted potatoes, fruit salad, and coffee.  It was a wonderful start to my weekend!

What I loved most about it was how different the texture was.  I was not sure how much I would like a runny yolk over the meringue but it is shockingly good!  This is a recipe that is definitely going into my brunch repertoire.  It is a fun twist on baked eggs, impressively beautiful, and opens up the stove for other dishes.

Love and stylish eats,

Betty

Leave a Reply

