A while back I posted about how annoyed I was with having to buy razor blades.  Specifically, how I could never remember what brand of razor because they all looked alike and how expensive it was to purchase new blades.  A few suggestions came in for different types of razors or subscription services and I decided to give one in specific a try.  I went with Dollar Shave Club in part because of you lovely people telling me I should and partly because some of my favorite podcasters used them as sponsors.

So now that we have the intro out of the way, onto the specifics!  I am judging this service on three criteria: sign up and offerings, quality of shave, and durability of the razor.

Criteria One

Sign up was super easy.  Like super easy.  The standard fill in the blanks for your contact information and payment and then just a couple clicks to choose your subscription level.  I was signed up and checked out in under five minutes.

They have three levels, based on the number of blades.  I went with the six blade level (the Executive).  You get four cartridges per shipment and can choose to ship monthly or every other month.  I do so love my customizable options.  At $9 per shipment it is much cheaper than buying in the store per cartridge ($2.25 for DSC and upwards of $3.32 for Amazon).

10 out of 10.

Criteria Two

The shave was close, the blade easily maneuvered around my ankles and knees, there was no pulling on my skin, and the moisture strip didn’t leave any weird residue.  In summary, the shave was great.  It was on par with, if not better than, any of the brands I had bought at box stores.  After I did not notice any irritation and did not have an issue with ingrown hairs.

I do have one tiny little complaint about the razor; my skin does feel more parched after each shave versus some of the razors for women with the intense moisture strips.  However, those moisture strips can leave a film on the skin (which annoys me) so it is almost a no win situation.

8 out of 10.

Criteria Three

Each cartridge has lasted me about a week and a half with shaving my legs and underarms every other day.  In all honestly, I could possibly extend the life of them longer but I feel like spoiling myself.  Compared to store bought brands, these cartridges last about the same amount of time.  I have had some brands last a bit longer, but to be honest I might not have been shaving as much.  It has been a scorching summer meaning there have been very few off days from summer skirts.

9 out of 10.

Summary

I will definitely be continuing my subscription with the Dollar Shave Club.  It is easy, affordable, provides a quality product, and the automatic shipments mean I can never forget to stock back up.  Who knows, I may even try their skin care products too!

Love and online shopping,

Betty

 

2 thoughts on “Dollar Shave Club – Is It Worth It?

  1. You should try the shave butter they have. It is amazing, gives a super smooth shave and leaves your skin feeling soft without being greasy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

