Tis the season of well seasonal eats.  Everyone has a CSA subscription or plans trips to the farmer’s market.  Both are amazing for fresh, local vegetables.  This can mean a glut of a specific kind of vegetable, because things do typically ripen in short periods of time.  This time, I was the happy beneficiary of this seasonal bounty and Amy sent me home with a whole head of cabbage all for myself.

As I was running through a variety of ideas, including repeating the roasted cabbage recipe I posted before I was torn on what to make with it.  Then I latched onto the idea of making the cabbage into a platform for other delicious things.  Things that have a sauce and need something to absorb it.  If you read my Whole30 experience post, you know I am sort of on the outs with grains.  I thought this robust and noodle like treatment of a vegetable would be a great substitute.  Turns out, I was correct.  Please stay tuned for the chicken curry recipe I paired this with (coming this week!).

Ingredients:

1 whole head of cabbage

1 clove of garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

Salt to taste

Non-stick spray

Method:

Preheat oven to 375° F.  Prep a baking sheet by coating it with non-stick spray.  Cut the cabbage into approximately one inch thick slices.  Place on the baking sheet and rub olive oil and salt over both sides.  Using a micoplane or grater, process the garlic to a fine paste.  Evenly distribute the garlic over one side of the steaks.  Roast 30 minutes, flip the steaks over, and roast for another 30 minutes.  The edges should be crisp and brown and the center should be fork tender.

(Betty note: in the featured photo, the image to the left is the raw state, top right is after the first 30 minutes, the bottom right image is fully cooked.)

Serves approximately four as a side dish.  I say approximately because you might go back for seconds.  It is a vegetable, so go for it.  Vegetables are good for you.

Serving Suggestion:

Anything with a sauce.  Well maybe not anything, as I don’t see marinara being good on it.  But something with a ton of flavor or with a lot of texture like puttanesca sauce or curry.  As I am writing this, it strikes me that it would be amazing in winter as a base for something with mushrooms like stroganoff.  Alone, the flavor of the cabbage is mild and earthy and it loses the rubbery texture typically found in raw form.

Love and so good even a carb fiend will love it,

Betty

One thought on “Cabbage Steaks -How to Make Vegetables, Delectable

Leave a Reply

