I saw an idea like this on Pinterest.  It didn’t have very clear instructions so I sort of guessed and came up with this.  Now I will be the first to admit, I am not a huge fan of the twice baked potato normally.  I find they tend to be too dry and the skin/shell is a bit off texture-wise for me.  I had never had a twice baked sweet potato but I had a feeling they would be well suited to the job.  Unlike a russet potato, sweet potatoes have a lot of moisture naturally making it more difficult to dry them out when doing the double cooking time.

The breakfast part, well who doesn’t love breakfast for dinner?  I recently introduced a friend to the word “brinner” and I would like to think I enriched their life for the better. Also, avocado, I put that on darn near anything.

*Betty note – if you pick potatoes that are too narrow you will have trouble with the stuffing and egg part.  Pick potatoes that are slightly more football shaped so you have space to add the egg.

Ingredients:

2 medium sweet potatoes or yams

4 eggs

Salt and pepper to taste

½ tsp garlic powder

1 avocado

Lime juice, to taste

Method:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and bake whole potatoes till they are cooked through.  This will take about an hour depending on the thickness of the potato.  Remove the potatoes from the oven and holding them in a towel (to protect yourself) cut into half length-wise.  Using a spoon, carefully scrape out the center of the potato so about ¼ inch of flesh is left attached to the skin.  Place the skins cut sided up on a greased baking sheet.

Place removed potato in a small bowl.  Mash the filling with salt, pepper, and garlic.  Using the spoon, add the filling to the skins evenly.   Using the back of the spoon, push the filling out of the center leaving a well in the middle with high sides around it.  The filling can push up over the edge of the skins.  Crack one egg into each well.  Return the baking sheets to the oven for 10 minutes or until yolks have reached their desired doneness.  I prefer runny yolks so I remove mine closer to 8-10 minutes.

While the eggs bake, mash the avocado in a bowl with lime juice and salt.  When the eggs are done, place to halves per plate and top each half with about a quarter of the avocado.  Serves two.

Love and brinner,

Betty

Leave a Reply

