I wore blue lipstick in public and nothing happened.  I wore blue lipstick in public and no one made snide comments or gave me funny looks.  I wore blue lipstick in public and realized the only person stopping me from being bold, was me.

I wore blue lipstick and realized that all these ideas I had in my head about what is appropriate and acceptable to wear in public were all just in my head.  No one around me at the store or the restaurant gave me a funny look or stopped and stared.  No one treated me any differently gave me any reason to feel self-conscious.

I wore blue lipstick in public and realized that what has been holding me back from trying new things, not just in regards to my appearance but also in regards to things like taking business classes, was me.  The limitations surrounding me, are in large part because I put them there.  I settled myself in box of someone who wears retro-ish styles but never anything too crazy like Twiggy mod or full on 50s with petticoats.  I set my limits as someone who isn’t great with numbers and the technical side of the business but instead is only good at the creative side.  But I can wear blue lipstick in public with confidence.  And I can learn how to create budgets and schedules as well as plan marketing strategies.

I wore blue lipstick in public and learned that I am my own worst enemy.  I doubt myself, when I am finding that other people do not.  I worry that I am standing out too much when I should worry more about not shining bright enough.  I hold myself back because I fear failure when really I should be more concerned with not testing my limits.

I wore blue lipstick in public and while I am not officially without fear, I am finding my bravery.  I am finding that I can be confident wearing my hair in a wet set and now worrying that it will look too much like a costume.  I am finding that I can be good at both the business and artistic side of Sweet Betty’s.  I am seeing that when I fall, I can pull myself right back up again and be no worse for it.

I wore blue lipstick in public and I am the better for it.

Love and confidence,

Betty

Leave a Reply

