I set a goal for myself last year – not a resolution, I don’t do resolutions – to read 40 books in 2016.  For those of you stat geeks that is about 3 ½ books per month.  Seems doable right?  Well for someone who reads as an escape it is.  Right around August I realized I was a wee bit ahead of schedule.  Well more like a lot ahead of schedule.  So I upped the goal to 50.  I was right on track till December when the holidays hit and I got busy with my Etsy shop.  That is a statement of fact, not a complaint, I was pleased as punch to have so many craft orders.  However, thanks to an internet outage on the 31st gave me an excuse to turn to hard copy books versus internet crochet patterns.  I also need to thank my brother as I read two of the Agatha Christie novels I picked up from his wedding center pieces!

I have decided for 2017 I am going to read 55 books.  Why 55?  Well it is more than 50 but still seems reasonable (for me).

The top five books I read in 2016 (in the order I read them) were:

  1. The Snowman by Jo Nesbo
  2. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
  3. The Brotherhood of the Wheel by R.S. Belcher
  4. The Shining by Stephen King
  5. Altar of Bones by Philip Carter

Now I read all of the Harry Potter books this year and you may notice they are not on the list above.  Because if I had included them it might be the whole freaking list and that just doesn’t seem right.  (Of the Harry Potter books my favorite one is Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince.)

Now for the lengthy part of this post, the whole list of books I read this year!

  1. Dead Girls Don’t Wear Diamonds by Nancy Martin
  2. The New Jim Crow by Michelle Alexander
  3. Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen
  4. Winter: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
  5. Inés of My Soul by Isabel Allende
  6. The Machine by Joe Posnanski
  7. Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable by Seth Godin
  8. The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom
  9. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie
  10. The Lost Explorer: Finding Mallory on Mount Everest by Conrad Anker and David Roberts
  11. Tricky Twenty Two by Janet Evanovich
  12. Academy Street by Mary Costello
  13. An Evil Mind by Chris Carter
  14. The Snowman by Jo Nesbø
  15. Bad Wolf by Nele Neuhaus
  16. Empire by Orson Scott Card
  17. The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
  18. The Ghost Writer by John Harwood
  19. The Brotherhood of the Wheel by R.S. Belcher
  20. Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood
  21. A Feast for Crows (A Song for Ice and Fire #4) by George RR Martin
  22. 1776 by David McCullough
  23. The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin
  24. The Bat by Jo Nesbø
  25. Carrie by Stephen King
  26. The Redbreast by Jo Nesbø
  27. The Shining by Stephen King
  28. Harry Potter and the Sorcer’s Stone by JK Rowling
  29. A Dance with Dragons by George RR Martin
  30. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  31. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
  32. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by JK Rowling
  33. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by JK Rowling
  34. A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
  35. The Girl with Ghost Eyes by M.H. Boroson
  36. Sex, murder, and a double latter by Kyra Davis
  37. Kissinger’s Shadow: The Long Reach of America’s Most Controversial Ststesman by Greg Grandin
  38. Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
  39. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by JK Rowling
  40. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by JK Rowling
  41. The Death’s Head Chess Club by John Donoghue
  42. City of Fallen Angels (Mortal Instruments Book 4) by Cassandra Clare
  43. Murder Underground by Mavis Doriel Hay
  44. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling
  45. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling
  46. Turbo Twenty-Three by Janet Evanovich
  47. City of Lost Souls (Mortal Instruments Book 5) by Cassandra Clare
  48. Altar of Bones by Philip Carter
  49. The Moving Finger by Agatha Christie
  50. The Secret Adversary by Agatha Christie

Love and lists,

Betty

Leave a Reply

