Dear Avocado,

You make diary free not miserable, you add amazing flavor to enchiladas, you work for every meal and snack times in between.  You go on toast, on eggs, as guacamole, with orange slices…I have to stop before I drool on my keyboard.

Like many of you, I adore avocado.  The moral of this roundabout story is I am always looking for an excuse to have more avocado in my life.  So the other day I was trying to think of a hearty snack that would be quick to make, keep me full all afternoon (dinner was going to be late that week), and still be healthy.  I mean I love my junk food but I really didn’t need the energy crash before I even got to the commute home.

So this is a bit of a mix between cowboy caviar and guacamole on steroids.  It has protein, fat, fiber, flavor, and if I had leftovers it would go great on breakfast tacos!  Oh wait…why didn’t I make extra for breakfast on the weekend?  Missed opportunity right there.  Though to be fair, I had no leftovers with this as I had to make myself stop eating at one serving.

Now I am going to give you some insider knowledge about this recipe.  If you make a full batch, you can just let it sit in the fridge, so long as you do not add the avocado.  I mix everything together minus the avocado and have it all prepped for a week.  Then as I dish it out each day, I add the diced avocado to make sure it is fresh and not brown.  Also, if you cannot find a ripe avocado, the pre-made avocado/guacamole you find at the grocery store can make a decent substitute.  I prefer the fresh naturally, but I found myself in a pinch one day and it was my only option.

Recipe serves 4 in snack size or as an appetizer.

Ingredients:

1 can black beans, rinsed

1 cup corn (canned or frozen)

1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved

2 avocados, sliced or cubed according to your preference

3 scallions, chopped

2 tbsp cilantro, minced

1 lime, juiced

1 tsp salt

Optional: add a minced jalapeno

Method:

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl.  Serve immediately.  Or follow the tips above for making it ahead, I am not the boss of you.

Serve by itself as a snack, with chips for an appetize, on breakfast tacos for brunch, or even on salad for a wow factor.

Love and friends don’t let friends get hangry,

Betty

Leave a Reply

