I am obsessed with this for breakfast this summer. It is nice and cool, just sweet enough, goes great with my coffee, and is no thought at all in the morning! I usually have oatmeal a couple of times a week in winter but when it is hot out, I just can’t make myself eat hot oatmeal for breakfast. I had tried a few other flavors (like banana peanut butter) but it just wasn’t cutting it for me. This is like a mix between raisin bran cereal and oatmeal. As a totally random side note, back when I could eat wheat raisin bran was my favorite cereal.

Serves 1

1/3 cup dry oatmeal (not the 1-minute oats)

½ cup almond milk

1 tbsp raisins

2-3 dashes cinnamon

1 tsp brown sugar (option depending on how sweet like your oats).

Mix everything together in a sealable container, I use a mason jar, and let sit overnight or at least 4 hours. Serve cold.  If your oats are a little too thick for your liking in the morning, just add a splash more almond milk.

Betty notes:

  • I use unsweetened almond milk so I add a touch of brown sugar most days, but not always.
  • For a larger serving the measurements are ½ cup oats to ¾ almond milk or 1 cup oats to 1 ½ cup almond milk.

Love and whole grains,

Betty

Leave a comment